You are here

Participating Faculty

The following faculty may be available for graduate student supervision. Prospective students should contact faculty to inquire about possible supervision. Please see personal web sites for detailed descriptions of research interests.

  • Dr. Sheridan Houghten (houghten@brocku.ca, www): Combinatorics, algorithms, coding theory, bioinformatics. 
  • Dr. David Hughes (hughesd@brocku.ca): Technology based learning, object-oriented programming languages. 
  • Dr. David McCarthy (mccarthyd@brocku.ca): Combinatorics. 
  • Dr. Beatrice Ombuki-Berman (bombuki@brocku.ca, www): Evolutionary computation, neural networks, swarm intelligence, combinatorial optimization. 
  • Dr. Ke Qiu (kqiu@brocku.ca, www): Parallelism, algorithms. 
  • Prof. Jon Radue (jradue@brocku.ca, www): Technology based learning, academic integrity, Internet. 
  • Dr. Brian Ross (bross@brocku.ca, www): Evolutionary computation, genetic programming, evolutionary design. 
  • Dr. Michael Winter (mwinter@brocku.ca, www): Logic, programming languages. 
  • Prof. Vladimir Wojcik (vwojcik@brocku.ca, www): Parallelism, computer vision, simulation. 

Professors Emeriti:

  • Dr. Ivo Düntsch (duentsch@brocku.ca, www): Algebraic logic, non-invasive data analysis, qualitative spatial reasoning. 

Participating external faculty:

  • Dr John Bonnett (Dept of History, jbonnett@brocku.ca, www): Digital humanities.
  • Dr. Babak Farzad (Dept of Mathematics, bfarzad@brocku.ca, www): Graph theory, algorithmic game theory, algorithms, discrete optimization
  • Dr. Frank Fueten(Dept of Earth Sciences, ffueten@brocku.ca, www): Computer applications in geology, neural networks, computer vision. 
  • Dr. Omar Kihel (Dept of Mathematics, okihel@brocku.ca, www): Coding theory, cryptography. 
  • Dr. Ping Liang (Dept of Biology, pliang@brocku.ca, www): Bioinformatics.
  • Dr. Thomas Wolf (Dept of Mathematics, twolf@brocku.ca, www): Computer Algebra, Computer go/weiqi/baduk. 

Adjunct faculty:

  • Dr. Joseph Brown (U of Innopolis): Computational biology, computational intelligence.
  • Dr. Robert Teather (Carleton U): Human computer interaction.